Research team

Glenna L. DRISKO

I obtained my PhD in 2010 from The University of Melbourne, for my work on the adsorption of metals onto porous metal oxides for radioactive waste storage, under the co-supervision of Prof. Rachel A. Caruso (Univ. Melbourne, Australia) and Dr. Vittorio Luca (CNEA, Argentina). From 2010 to 2013, I was a post-doctoral fellow at the Laboratoire de Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Paris (LCMCP), in the group of Clement Sanchez, where I studied material processing using dip-coating and aerosols and the low temeperature crystallization of silica. In 2014, I conducted a second post-doctorate position in the Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination in Toulouse in the group of Myrtil Kahn. There I studied the decomposition of coordination complexes to form nanopaticles under inert conditions.

In 2016, I accepted a Junior Chair position in the Institut de Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Bordeaux (ICMCB); in the group of Etienne Duguet. The principle topic of my research has since been the formation of crystalline silcon particles using bottom-up solution chemistry in pursuit of optical metamaterials. I entered the CNRS work force in 2017 in the ICMCB, where I continues to study the chemistry of nanomaterials.

I was awarded the L’Oreal/UNESCO Women in Science award and ever since have participated in scientific outreach for young children.

groupe-5-bis-1.jpgThe metamaterials network of permanent researchers 2019 (top left to right: Serge Ravaine, Etienne Duguet, Philippe Barois, Virginie Ponsinet, Alexandre Baron, Jean-Baptiste Salmon, (bottom left to right) Glenna Drisko, Mona Tréguer-Delapierre, Emilie Pouget, Oliver Mondane, Kevin Vynck.

IMG_1118The metamaterials team 2018 (top left to right): Glenna Drisko, Benoit Cormary, (bottom left to right) Sanaa Semlali, Maria De Marco, Cansu Canbek

IMG-20200324-WA0007The metamaterials team 2017 (left to right): Maria De Marco Benoit Cormary, Glenna Drisko and Sanaa Semlali.